Corporate email – good or bad?

Please be aware, in line with corporate policy,

all <CompanyName> email addresses are to be

departmentalised.


Joe.Bloggs@Company.Name.co.uk will cease

to accept incoming emails from 1st September 2011.


Please address all future emails to

healthcare@Company.Name.co.uk


 

I received this email today. It got me thinking – is the customer or contact who sends an email to a faceless, depersonalised email address going to get better service? Are they going to have a better perception of the human side of this company? Or is it all about response? What’s the benefit to the customer? From whom will the reply come?

 

If you were Joe, and they changed your email address, would you feel more or less valued as an employee?

 

Does it add to or detract from the company brand?

 

I’m really not sure if it’s a good thing or not – but I can see the potential for confusion in the mind of the customer – what do you think?

3 thoughts on “Corporate email – good or bad?

  1. Anonymous says:

    How impersonal! talk about show your customers you care! I don’t like it at all. I need to know a name, I need to know who is accountable for my messages

  2. Anonymous says:

    this reminds me of that scandal with Downing Street sending out letters purporting to be from a named person, then when someone rang up she found that the named person was fictitious, and they had invented fictitious names to make people feel that they were diealing with a person.Hilarious! Your example smacks to me of someone up high in a company trying to remove their staff from direct contact with customers because staff come and go. I’ve recently read a solicitors article which seriously attempted to state that your employees could be prevented from taking their Linkedin network with them when they left the employ of your firm. Clearly examples of control freaks who don’t know how the internet (and the real world come to that) works!

  3. Anonymous says:

    I can understand having a generic email address enquiries@company.name.co.uk for web leads, quote requests, HMRC correspondence etc etc; but this example (it came from the Divisional Sales Manager no less) seems to depersonalise the whole email process. Try for the life of me I can’t see much of an upside. I wonder if they have a Social Media policy – that would be a good read!!

Leave a Reply

